About Morocco

About Morocco

Morocco is located on the North West coast of Africa and has ports in the North Atlantic Ocean as well as the Mediterranean Sea. It shares the largest part of its border with algeria to the East and Western Sahara to the South. Morocco is divided into sixteen regions. Each region is further divided into provinces and prefectures. The capital of Morocco is Rabat and its largest city is Casablanca ( Anfa in Amazigh language ). The national currency is the Moroccan Dirham (dh).

Destinations and Attractions

Morocco is a land rich in natural beauty and memorable places that are both fascinating to visit and intriguing to discover. For those who want to immerse themselves in Moroccan culture and history there are hundreds of mosques, palaces, and historical sites to visit. Equally memorable is the Moroccan landscape, which is framed by several impressive destinations such as the Sahara Desert and amazing mountain ranges such as the High Atlas, the Chefchaouen Mountains and the Oregano Mountains, which offer outdoor activities such as snow skiing, hiking, climbing, and travel challenges. For travelers wanting the relaxation of seaside towns and beaches, the Moroccan coast is home to spectacular fishing cities like Essaouira, and swimming beaches such as Lagzira beach in Agadir.

Culture and Heritage

Moroccan culture is deeply rooted by history and arts. Throughout Morocco there is a wide choice of museums such as The Museum of Antiques and The Ethnographic Museum in Tetouan. Another favorite stop is the Museum of Moroccan art, which houses on display unique collections of glass objects, manuscripts, beautiful carpets, jewelry, handicrafts and ancient manuscripts. For those who want to enjoy live performances, Morocco has many beautiful theatres that present classic, translated and reworked productions of western classics such as Shakespeare to modern productions of Moroccan plays that are filled with the country’s tradition.

For more information about travelling around Morocco, take a look at our tours or contact us for any inquiry.